$10 Eagle | United States Gold | 1795 - 1907

Regular issue eagles come in three major types and six minor varieties as follows:

Turban Head (Capped Bust) 1795–1804
Turban Head (Capped Bust to Right) small eagle 1795–1797
Turban Head (Capped Bust to Right) large eagle (Heraldic) 1797–1804

Liberty Head (Coronet) 1838–1907
Coronet, without motto 1838–1866
Coronet, with motto 1866–1907

Indian Head 1907-1933
No Motto on Reverse 1907-1908
With Motto on Reverse 1908-1933

The eagle was a United States $10 gold coin issued by the United States Mint from 1792 to 1933.

The eagle was the largest of the five main decimal base-units of denomination used for circulating coinage in the United States prior to 1933, the year when gold was withdrawn from circulation. The eagle base-unit of denomination served as the basis of the quarter eagle ($2.50), half eagle ($5), eagle ($10), and double eagle ($20) coins.

The United States’ circulating eagle denomination from the late 18th century through to the first third of the 20th century should not be confused with the American Eagle bullion coins which are manufactured from silver or gold (since 1986), platinum (since 1997), or palladium (since 2017).